Ready To Start

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 12.14.09 AM

Finally ready to start…

In my graphic design course we were given the option of designing CD covers for our favorite artists. After much thought, research and of course listening, I choose one of my favorite alternative bands, Arcade Fire, specifically looking at their album ‘The Suburbs’, which features popular songs, Ready To StartWe Used To Wait, and The Suburbs.  I was so inspired by the albums color scheme at first, all the sunny pastels combined with the the relaxed Hollywood-vibe; combined with their catchy lyrics about summer getaway driving, staying indoors, walking down the street, all reminded me of the summertime in the neighborhood.  I tried to combine the warmest pastels with the most familiar of surroundings, places that looked familiar, but that had not been explored.  I started with the Hollywood boulevard look for the cover, with typical palm trees lining the road, but decided to take a twist and flood the streets, relating to a time before the suburbs and before motor vehicles, that is often lyrically discussed in the album.  I also wanted to include palm trees, as a peaceful icon, almost enhancing the viewer to, ‘come, sit with me under my cool branches and take a listen.’  Other times colors would blur together to become a side panel or side  strip, again to emphasize the pastel colors I was so inspired by from the start.   

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-04 at 11.43.55 PMScreen Shot 2014-09-04 at 11.45.49 PMScreen Shot 2014-09-04 at 11.46.19 PM

Screen Shot 2014-09-04 at 11.47.37 PM

 

Leave a Reply

